Assessment in librarianship

E-learning has been an exciting experience so far in my position at a university.  With the creation of learning objects and then assessing the effectiveness of the objects has really opened my eyes on the idea of assessment.  Why don’t librarians do more assessment?  Is LibQUAL enough?  We have such a diverse clientele, it’s hard to track what each different groups want.  When we look at the overall needs, they can vary if we do not look at a particular subset within the group.

If I could go back in time, I would most definitely demand a course in assessment in librarianship.  The experience in my position has been eye-opening and I have been lucky enough to take a qualitative research course and a data-based decision making course to understand and know what I’m doing!

Leave a Reply

