Shopping Spree Damage

On Saturday, I had some time on Queen Street West and what was supposed to be an easy day of browsing, turned into a shopping spree.  I have to say, I didn’t realize how diverse in jewellery, shoes and clothing Queen Street West has to offer.  Since I’m stuck in a label rut, I’d like to move away from the brand names this spring and try to support local boutiques. My new tops are drying but what I can show you is the beautiful jewellery I found.  First up, is Elle Hardware on Queen Street West in Toronto, Ontario.

Ring from Elle Hardware

Ring from Elle Hardware

What I learned was that the ring was made from antique cutlery (forks, knives and spoons) by a York University student, I was taken by the detail and re-use concept.  The ring cost about CAN$43.99 each and came in various designs depending on the cutlery end, I imagined mine came from a small spoon.  Another purchase I made was at Girl Friday.  I spotted this necklace and needed it.  They offered some great selection within reasonable price range, in my case, CAN$40.00.  I imagine wearing this with a simple tee and half pleather leggings I got from Club Monaco and lace-up booties. Note that the necklace is 23″ long (including the fringe) and 12″ neck chain.

Necklace from Girl Friday - Jayu Leather Necklace

Necklace from Girl Friday - Jayu Leather Necklace

Another store, I’ve frequented for jewellery is Durumi.  They offer a precious selection, one that is often delicate and simple in style.  Not too many statement pieces but sometimes, a girl just needs something simple.  I love he delicacy of this necklace with the simple detail of three metal bars on the blue string, on a blue sweater, it looks like it’s floating.  It set me back CAN$ 32.00.  They offer great selection on clothes as well and shoes (Chocolate Shoes).

Durumi Necklace Detail - Label Unknown

Durumi Necklace Detail - Label Unknown

Necklace from Durumi - Label Unknown

Necklace from Durumi - Label Unknown

I’m waiting for another pay day so I can peruse the local boutiques on Queen Street West again.  This time I’d like to venture more west and purchase a few more pieces of jewellery from Love of Mine and Charlie.  There were some other great stores along the way but I didn’t memorize or note the store names.  When I get a chance, I’ll show more purchases from my trip.

Leave a Reply

